It’s Official: I’m Out of Ideas.

madhedgefundtrader's picture Submitted by madhedgefundtrader on 10/11/2010 22:47 -0500

Australian DollarBank of JapanCanadian DollarCentral BanksJapanMean ReversionPolandPrecious MetalsYenYuan

September turned out to be the best trading month of my career. Not only did my longs go up and my shorts go down, there was panic buying of virtually every asset class I have been herding readers into. Only my short on the yen stood out there flaunting a middle fingered salute, threatening new highs as I write this, despite two healthy rounds on intervention by the Bank of Japan. In a profession where you are only as good as your last trade, the question arises of what to do now?

How about precious metals? Last month, the sector rocketed, with gold (GLD) up 6%, silver (SLV), 16%, platinum (PPLT), 9%, and palladium (PALL), 16%. Individuals, institutions, and central banks alike fought with each other to acquire positions in this space. Hmmmm. I don’t think I’ll load the boat here.

How about emerging markets? I hear that’s the place to be. A quick look at the charts show that Chile (ECH) jumped by 10%, Singapore (EWS), 10%, South Korea (EWY), 15%, South Africa (EWA) ,17%, Indonesia (IDX), 17%, and sausage eating, beer drinking Poland (EPOL), up an unbelievable 18%. It seens that the more abuse about a recommendation I made, the faster it went up. I’ve spent so much time writing about Asia that I now have to douse my food with soy sauce for it to taste right. Gulp. I don’t think I want to buy on top of these meteoric moves.

The US government’s policies out to be knocking the legs out from under the dollar pretty soon. Maybe I should buy some foreign currencies? My top pick in the currency arena, the Australian dollar, leapt 10% in September, followed by a 4.3% move in the Canadian dollar. These are enormous moves over such a short period. Even the Chinese Yuan managed a lethargic 2.1% move. I have been singing Waltzing Mathilda in the shower so often that my neighbors are threatening legal action.

How about looking in a nook so obscure that it is unlikely anyone has found it yet, like rare earths? But a quick typing in of the symbols in my charting software reveals that Molycorp (MCP) exploded up 76% in September, Avalon Rare Metals (AVARF) popped 46%, and Lynas Corp. (LYSCF) rose 65%. As much as I like the long term case for these metals, it would be nuts to establish new positions here.

OK, maybe the problem is that I’m obsessing about financial markets, and should look at the food sector for some bargains. Everywhere I looked, the moves were just as impressive, with corn (CORN), wheat, and soybeans (35%), just posting record consecutive limit up moves. Coffee (JO), cotton (BAL) (46%), and sugar (SSG) (94%) posted equally impressive moves. I look at moves like these and my inner trader says “run, Forest, run!”

When I was running my big hedge fund and delivered outsized returns like this, I went 100% into cash, embarked on a long vacation, and waited for my performance bonus to clear the bank. I took the QEII (the nautical kind) to England, loaded up on new Sea Island Silk shirts at Turnbull & Asser on London’s Jermyn Street, and mount my annual attempt to summit the Matterhorn, only to be turned back by weather at the Hörnli Hut. My investors loved it.

I went on these extended sabbaticals because whenever I brought in stellar gains, mean reversion had the nasty habit of taking them away. Is QEII (the monetary kind) already priced in, but may not happen? You have to ask the same with a Republican win in November. Cash looks like the best investment of all right now. Better to lock in that performance, keep you powder dry, and live to fight another day.

To see the data, charts, and graphs that support this research piece, as well as more iconoclastic and out-of-consensus analysis, please visit me at http://www.madhedgefundtrader.com . There, you will find the conventional wisdom mercilessly flailed and tortured daily, and my last two years of research reports available for free. You can also listen to me on Hedge Fund Radio by clicking on “This Week on Hedge Fund Radio” in the upper right corner of my home page.

3.666665 Your rating: None Average: 3.7 (3 votes)
» Share/Save Login or register to post commentsPrinter-friendly versionSend to friend

by alexwest
on Tue, 10/12/2010 – 04:59
#642640

#was running my big hedge fund and delivered outsized returns like this,

THANKS GOD PLEASE SHUT UP…

alx

Login or register to post comments by alexwest
on Tue, 10/12/2010 – 04:59
#642641

#was running my big hedge fund and delivered outsized returns like this,

THANKS GOD PLEASE SHUT UP…

alx

Login or register to post comments by alexwest
on Tue, 10/12/2010 – 04:59
#642642

#was running my big hedge fund and delivered outsized returns like this,

THANKS GOD PLEASE SHUT UP…

alx

Login or register to post comments by Leo Kolivakis
on Tue, 10/12/2010 – 07:00
#642711

Umm, most hedge funds are underperforming, and are going to squeeze as much beta juice as possible going into yearend. Chew on that while you smoke your dry powder!

Login or register to post comments by Robslob
on Tue, 10/12/2010 – 07:12
#642724

Leo….shame…we expect better from a person of your stature.

Login or register to post comments by SamuelMaverick
on Tue, 10/12/2010 – 07:29
#642748

Yeah, go into cash as the dollar continues to tank. Are you freakin kidding me ?   Yours, Maverick

 

 

Login or register to post comments Comment viewing options Flat list – collapsedFlat list – expandedThreaded list – collapsedThreaded list – expanded Date – newest firstDate – oldest first 10 comments per page30 comments per page50 comments per page70 comments per page90 comments per page150 comments per page200 comments per page250 comments per page300 comments per pageSelect your preferred way to display the comments and click “Save settings” to activate your changes. Search Search this site: Latest News From RAN Squawk 10-12 07:48: USD/CAD moves below 5DMA at 1.0134 to print fresh session low at 1.0129 10-12 07:47: Pimco’s Eli-Erian says FOMC likely to move forward with QE2 10-12 07:46: Apache (APA) completes acquisition of BP Canada assets 10-12 07:45: Market talk of UK clearer and German names selling EUR/CHF 10-12 07:38: Moody’s changes outlook on 14 Ukrainian banks to stable from negative 10-12 07:34: TNK-BP (BP/ LN) COO Schrader says Alergia has approved talks on asset there, and also there is no deadline on asset talks 10-12 07:29: Pfizer (PFE) to acquire King Pharmaceuticals for USD 3.6bln, or USD 14.25 per share 10-12 07:28: French workers at Petroplus (PPHN VX) Petit Couronne refinery vote to extend strike for further 24 hours to 1100GMT Wednesday according to CGT Union The Zero Hedge Team

Tyler Durden – Founder

Marla Singer – Foil

Travis – Author

Cornelius – Author

Sacrilege – Senior Researcher

 

tips [ at ] zerohedge [ dot ] com – Our Reader Tips Mailbox

Make sure to read our “How To [Read/Tip Off] Zero Hedge Without Attracting The Interest Of [Human Resources/The Treasury/Black Helicopters]” Guide

ads [ at ] zerohedge [ dot ] com – Advertising Inquiries.

abuse [ at ] zerohedge [ dot ] com – Abuse / Infringement Issues

 

It would be very wise of you to study our disclaimer, our privacy policy and our (non)policy on conflicts / full disclosure.

 

Zero Hedge Offices:

United States:
888.qui.zero (888.784.9376)

Zurich:
+41 43 501 6717

London:
+44 20 3318 4753

copyright ©2009, 2010 zero hedge – limited reproduction (with attribution) permitted by request

zero hedge’s redundancy powered by:

Drupal e-commerce provided by Ubercart.

View the Original article

Leave a Reply

